Distinguished Service Award Winners

This award is not presented on any regular basis but is given sporadically to deserving individuals who have contributed long-term service to the Society. Nominations should include at least one letter of support in addition to the nomination letter describing the nominee's contributions. Awardees are given a plaque.

  • Dr. Steven Schapiro, University of Texas M. D. Anderson Cancer Center, Bastrop, TX -- 2012 for extensive and substantial contributions to the American Society of Primatologists.
  • Dr. Joseph M. Erwin, Foundation for Comparative and Conservation Biology -- 2008 for significant contributions to the American Society of Primatologists.
  • Edgar Davila, Chief census taker at Cayo Santiago and Noel Rowe, author of The Pictorial Guide to the Living Primates and founder of Primate Conservation, Inc. -- 2007.
  • Jackie Pritchard, Director, Primate Information Center, Washington National Primate Research Center -- 2003.
  • Larry Jacobsen, Librarian, Wisconsin Regional Primate Research Center, Madison -- 1997 for significant contribution to the field of primatology and his pioneering efforts to disseminate information worldwide.
  • Judith Schrier, Brown University -- 1996 for longstanding committment to the publication of Laboratory Primate Newsletter
  • Dr. Richard Harrison, Tulane Regional Primate Research Center, Covington -- 1994 for service as the Historian of the American Society of Primatologists.
  • Dr. Leo A. Whitehair, Director, Comparative Medicine Program, National Center for Research Resources, NIH, Washington -- 1994 for outstanding support of primate research during a lengthy career at the Animal Resources Branch/Comparative Medicine Program.