ASP Conservationist Award

Application Deadline: March 31, 2024

This award provides recognition and financial support ($1500) for students and early career investigators from habitat countries who demonstrate potential for making significant and continuing contributions to primate conservation. Past awards have been presented by U.S. Ambassadors or other senior officials, thereby obtaining favorable publicity for the award, its recipient, and primate conservation in the recipient’s country.

Who is eligible:

Students, researchers, and educators from primate habitat countries for whom no more than five years have elapsed since receipt of their terminal degree. You must be a member of ASP to be eligible for the Conservationist Award.

How to nominate someone:

Nominators should send the following information via email to the chair of the ASP Conservation Committee (

  1. The name, title, and full mailing address of their nominee, alon gwith a statement about the nominee’s qualifications for the award, focusing on past and potential contributions to primate conservation.
  2. A copy of the nominee’s CV.
  3. A maximum of two (2) supporting letters from other individuals acquainted with the nominee’s work may also be submitted.

Evaluation procedure:

The Conservation Committee will make its recommendations for awards to the ASP Board of Directors at the annual ASP meeting. Successful nominees will be informed following the meeting and their names will be published in the ASP Bulletin and posted on the ASP web page.

For more information or to submit an award nomination, contact the ASP Conservation Committee (

This award is administered by the Conservation Committee. Chairs: Tremaine Gregory & Christy Wolovich.

Do I have to be an ASP member to be nominated for the Conservationist Award?

Yes, you are required to be a member of ASP to be eligible for the Conservationist Award.

  • 2023Rayahu Okktaviani, M.S., Javan Gibbon Research and Conservation Project
  • 2022 – Yin Yang, Ph.D., Institute of International Rivers and Eco-security, Yunnan University & International Center for Biodiversity and Primates Conservation, Dali University
  • 2021 – Fernanda Delborgo Abra, Ph.D., Director and Co-founder of ViaFAUNA
  • 2020 – Stanislaus M. Kivai Ph.D., Institute of Primate Research, Nairobi, Kenya
  • 2019 – Dr. Andie Ang. Raffles’ Banded Langur Working Group, Singapore
  • 2018 – Mariani Ramli, Founder and Advisor: Gibbon Protection Society of Malaysia (GPSM)
  • 2017 – Busobozi Richard. Kibale National Park, Uganda
  • 2016 – Francisca Vidal-Garcia. Instituto de EcologĂ­a AC
  • 2015 – Mamy Razafitsalama, Madagascar Country Director and Operations Manager, Planet Madagascar
  • 2014 – Chanthalaphone Nanthavong. Project Anoulak, Suranaree University of Technology, Thailand
  • 2013 – Francis Rwabuhinga, Uganda
  • 2012 – Abu Hanifah Lubis, Sumatra, Indonesia
  • 2010 – Bernardo Urbani, Venezuela
  • 2009 – Claudia Gomez, Nicaragua
  • 2008 – Josia Razafindramanana, Oxford Brooks University
  • 2007 – Hajarimanitra Rambeloarivony, Agroforestry School of the University of Antananarivo, Madagascar
  • 2006 – Dr. Entang Iskandar, Bogor Agricultural University, Bogor, Indonesia
  • 2004 – William Olupot, Uganda
  • 2003 – Anderson Bitty, Ivory Coast
  • 2002 – Pierre Kakule Vwirasihikya, Democratic Republic of Congo
  • 1999 – Rondang Siregar, Indonesia
  • 1997 – Juan Carlos Serio Silva, Mexico