Distinguished Primatologist Award

Black-and-white ruffed lemur grasping a branch with pink flowers. Photo by Kathy West (C) 2017.

Deadline: March 31 of the year in which the nominee is to be considered for an award.

The Distinguished Primatologist Award honors a primatologist who has had an outstanding career and made significant contributions to the field. The recipient is presented a plaque, a $500 honorarium, $1500 toward travel expenses to the following ASP meeting, and an invitation to deliver the Distinguished Primatologist Address (Featured Speaker) at the following year’s meeting of the Society.

Nomination Process

Nominations must be in writing and must include a vitae and a narrative that describes the nature and extent of the nominee’s contribution to primatology. Nominations must also include at least two letters of support submitted on behalf of the nominee.

Please send nominations to:

Justin A McNulty, MLAS, CPIA, RLATG
Chair, Awards & Recognition Committee
American Society of Primatologists
PO Box 3010
Edwards, CO  81632-3010
email: justinmcnulty@gmail.com

This award is administered by the Awards & Recognition Committee. Chair: Justin McNulty.

  • Dr. Suzette Tardiff, Southwest National Primate Research Center, TX — 2023
  • Dr. Toni Ziegler, University of Wisconsin, Madison, WI — 2022
  • Dr. Júlio César Bicca-Marques, Pontifical Catholic University of Rio Grande do Sul (PUCRS), Brazil — 2021
  • Dr. Susan Alberts, Duke University, Durham, NC — 2019
  • Dr. Dorothy Fragaszy, University of Georgia, Athens, GA — 2018
  • Dr. Paul Garber, University of Illinois — 2017
  • Drs. Dorothy Cheney and Robert Seyfarth, University of Pennsylvania — 2016
  • Dr. Frans B. M. de Waal, Emory University, Atlanta, GA — 2015
  • Dr. Charles Snowdon, University of Wisconsin, Madison, WI – 2014
  • Dr. Linda Fedigan, University of Calgary, Alberta, Canada — 2013
  • Dr. John P. Capitanio, University of California, Davis, CA — 2012
  • Dr. Melinda A. Novak, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA — 2011
  • Dr. Karen Strier, University of Wisconsin, Madison, WI — 2010
  • Dr. Stephen Suomi, NICHD, Poolesville, MD — 2009
  • Dr. Leanne Nash, Arizona State University, Tempe, AZ — 2008
  • Dr. Patricia Wright, State University of New York, Stony Brook, NY — 2007
  • Dr. Jeanne Altmann, Princeton University, Princeton, New Jersey — 2006
  • Dr. Duane Rumbaugh, Great Ape Trust Research Center, Des Moines, Iowa — 2005
  • Dr. Gene Sackett, University of Washington, Seattle — 2004
  • Dr. Donald G. Lindburg, San Diego Zoo — 2003
  • Dr. Andrew G. Hendrickx, University of California, Davis — 2002
  • Dr. Irwin Bernstein, University of Georgia — 2001
  • Dr. W. Richard Dukelow, Michigan State University — 1998
  • Dr. Orville Smith, University of Washington, Seattle — 1996
  • Dr. Charles Southwick, University of Colorado, Boulder — 1994
  • Dr. Philip Hershkovitz, The Field Museum of Natural History, Chicago, Illinois — 1991
  • Dr. William A. Mason, University of California, Davis — 1989