Early Career Achievement Award

Deadline: March 31 of the year in which the nominee is to be considered for an award.

Originally begun with a grant from the Burroughs Wellcome Fund (then called the Young Investigator Award) and established in 2001, this award acknowledges exceptional work by beginning scientists. The award is given to someone who is less than seven years past receiving the Ph.D. The work commended must have been carried out independently of the advisor, and be independent of the doctoral work. The award includes a plaque and $1500 toward travel/registration expenses to the ASP meeting at which the individual is invited to present a featured talk.

Nomination Process

Nominations must come from outside of the lab or research unit in which the individual works and must include the nominee’s CV.

Please send nominations to:

Justin A McNulty, MLAS, CPIA, RLATG
Chair, Awards & Recognition Committee
American Society of Primatologists
PO Box 3010
Edwards, CO  81632-3010
email: justinmcnulty@gmail.com

This award is administered by the Awards & Recognition Committee. Chair: Justin McNulty.

  • Dr. Amanda Melin, University of Calgary, Alberta, Canada — 2017
  • Dr. Bernardo Urbani, Center for Anthropology, Venezuelan Institute for Scientific Research – 2016
  • Dr. Katie Hinde, Harvard University – 2014 
  • Dr. Karen Bales, University of Illinois, Chicago – 2002