President’s Award

This award was established in 2000 and is given to individuals or to organizations that have made unique and exceptional contributions to primatology. The President of ASP, during his/her term of office, may nominate an individual or organization for the award. If the Awards and Recognition Committee endorses the nomination, it is forwarded to the Board of Directors for final approval. Awardees are given a $500 honorarium and a plaque.

This award is administered by the Awards & Recognition Committee. Chair: Justin McNulty.

  • Dr. Thomas T. Struhsaker, Duke University — 2022
  • Nancy Capitanio, ASP webmaster — 2021
  • Gabriele Lubach, University of Wisconsin, Madison — 2018
  • Noel Rowe, Primate Conservation, Inc. — 2016
  • Dr. Randall Kyes, Washington National Primate Research Center and Dr. Melinda Novak, University of Massachusetts, Amherst — 2014
  • Dr. Sian Evans, DuMond Conservancy, Miami, FL — 2012
  • Primate Information Center, Seattle, WA — 2010
  • Dr. J. Dee Higley, Brigham Young University and Dr. Janette Wallis, American University of Nigeria — 2008
  • Nancy Capitanio, ASP webmaster — 2006
  • Stephen Nash, Conservation International — 2004
  • Dr. Vernon Reynolds, Oxford University, and Director, Budongo Forest Project, Uganda — 2000