Ruppenthal Student Travel Awards

Application Deadline: July 15, 2021

Letters of Recommendation Due: July 22, 2021

All current, active student members of ASP are eligible for $500.00 awards to offset the cost of travel and accommodation to the 2021 ASP meeting in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma. These funds are courtesy of the ASP student travel fund supported by donations to ASP in the memory of Gerald C. Ruppenthal. The awards are designed to help students who would otherwise not be able to attend the meeting. Latin American students are especially encouraged to apply, as one travel award per year will be specifically designated for a student enrolled at a college and/or university from this region.

Award Criteria:

  1. Undergraduate and graduate students are eligible. Students must be presenting work as a first author. The abstract must be accepted for presentation by the Program Committee.
  2. Each applicant must be currently enrolled as a bona fide student and be a member of ASP
  3. Post-doctoral fellows or trainees are not eligible for these awards.
  4. Previous awardees are not eligible for another travel award.

On-line grant submission: Once you have registered for the conference and submitted your abstract, you will have the opportunity to apply for the travel award by clicking on the appropriate link from the Members section.

Before you start the on-line submission process, please download and fill out the Ruppenthal Student Travel Award Application.

Your application will require one letter of recommendation. At the time you submit your grant application online, the online system will request the email addresses of your letter writer and automatically email them with instructions on how to submit a letter. Your letter writer does not have to submit their letter of recommendation by the grant application deadline. However, to ensure that the letters are received in time for review, referees should submit their letters no later than one week after the grant application deadline.

The Awards and Recognition Committee and the Board of Directors will work together to decide on recipients for this award.

Questions about the ASP Ruppenthal Student Travel Award should be addressed to: Justin A McNulty, Chair of the Awards and Recognition Committee.